The K-01: A Review.

PENTAX Digital slrs: technology, equipment, use, tips, tricks, on digital photography

1 Mar '13 Fri Mar 01, 2013 16:28    
Dangermouse
Founder Member  
  •  

Post The K-01: A Review.

Click to follow Link to Original Article.

1 Mar '13 Fri Mar 01, 2013 20:26    
sasastro
Member / f1.4  Member / f1.4
  •  

Post Re: The K-01: A Review.

Thanks for the review - it really looks as if it's worth saving up for as an alternative camera. Pictures looked good too

Google +
Flickr
Photo Blog

1 Mar '13 Fri Mar 01, 2013 20:45    
Dangermouse
Founder Member  
  •  

You're welcome - I'm still learning how to get the best from it so better photos should follow!

I've now tried it with the Bigma and found that it worked perfectly, no focus adjustment was necessary with these copies of both. Next time the moon appears I'll be pointing this combination at it.

I can see the M 100mm f2.8 or the K 105mm working very well. The M 135mm is a good fit but probably the upper limit in terms of focal length and weight. If I see either for sane money I may consider them, preferably the K.

Unfortunately there don't seem to be any small AF telephoto primes other than the FA77 and DA70, the AF 135mm lenses are massive compared to the manual ones.

“Censorship is telling a man he can't have a steak just because a baby can't chew it.”
― Mark Twain

K-5, K2, SFX. Lenses from 1975 to 2012

1 Mar '13 Fri Mar 01, 2013 21:37    
Offertonhatter
Member / f5.6  Member / f5.6
  •  

I wonder how many body only K-01's SRS have left, as it might be a possible purchase come end of March for me. Very Happy

Proud Pentax User with K-5, K20D, K10D, *istDS, lots of lenses. Oh and plenty of Pentax Film cameras too

1 Mar '13 Fri Mar 01, 2013 22:27    
Dangermouse
Founder Member  
  •  

Well their ebay listing says "More than 10"... Laughing